Skip to content

Appalachian Trail Gear List – Northbound Thru-Hike

 

Link to my Gear Grams Page as promised in the video (includes detailed descriptions and precise weights of items in my pack): http://www.geargrams.com/list?id=18118

I’m carrying about 35 pounds which includes food and a liter of water. After the cold passes, I’ll send stuff home and sit pretty around 30 lbs.  I’ll be sending home about 2.5 lbs of cold gear and by that point I’ll likely switch from carrying 5 days of food to 3-4 instead.

Edit: I had my Headlamp in the pack while I was filming and unfortunately forgot to show it. It is a Black Diamond Storm and it is awesome. Also, I will be carrying lighters and a cannister of fuel but I can’t bring those on the plane (hence why they’re not laid out for me to pack them). That is all!

 

Remember to share and subscribe if you want to follow along with the journey!  We’ve got a long 6 months ahead!

5 Comments Post a comment
  1. Add mice to that concern list! 🙂 the shelters in Georgia have cables to hang your food, but even so a mouse chewed through my friend’s food bag and ate some oatmeal! 🙂

    March 31, 2014
  2. I haven’t watched the video yet as hubby is sleeping beside me. I realize you might answer my question in the video. 🙂

    March 30, 2014
  3. Where are you starting from? Also, bears! I’m so excited to follow you on this adventure!

    March 30, 2014
    • I’ll be starting at Springer Mountain, Georgia and ending at Mt. Katahdin in Maine. My biggest concerns are actually my joints, ticks, and snakes!

      March 30, 2014
      • Oooh, ticks. Good thinking. Good luck!

        March 30, 2014

Got an opinion? Share it!

